All programs

Forensic Psychiatry Residency Program

University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN
Continued AccreditationACGME #4062640064J1J-1H1BH-1B

University of Minnesota is an ACGME-accredited Forensic psychiatry residency program in Minneapolis, MN. It has 2 PGY-1 positions per year and approximately 2 residents in training. It reports 0% IMG residents and J-1 and H-1B visa sponsorship. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.

Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.

Overview

Positions / year
2
2 residents · 2 approved
PGY-1 salary
Not reported
IMG percentage
0%
x
Visa sponsorship
J-1, H-1B
Apps : 1 spot
Match report pending
verified
Open vacancies
None listed

Accredited since 2016 · 1 years · Last ACGME review 2018

IMG Fit

IMG-friendliness score

IMG-Friendliness Score
Computed from visa policy, IMG % in roster, and accreditation status.

Application requirements

Step 1
Optional
Required to apply
Step 2 CK
Optional
Required to apply
COMLEX
DO applicants
Letters
3
Incl. faculty
Visa
J-1, H-1B
Application service
ERAS

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Match & Tracks

NRMP match trend

Match data pending

Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.

Training tracks

Academic or clinician educator

Other

Residents

Cohort composition

IMG
0%
x
US MD
50%
x
DO
50%
x
Women
50%
x

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Affiliated medical schools

Medical schools affiliated with this program's sponsoring institution (FREIDA).

Resident roster

Resident roster — data pending

Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.

Schedule & Culture

Hours / week
40
Avg PGY-1 on duty
Max on-duty
8
Consecutive hours
Lecture hours
6
Protected didactic / week
Night float
No
PGY-1 rotation
Moonlighting
Yes
Outside work allowed
Faculty ratio
2.0
Full-time per resident
Days off / year
2
Avg PGY-1
Interviews / cycle
Slots offered
Preliminary positions
No
Offered by this program
Non-physician staff
6
Support team size

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Hospital & Location

Hospital quality

Government
Star Rating
Overall hospital rating
Beds

Primary teaching site: State Operated Forensic Services · St Peter, MN

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Clinical sites

State Operated Forensic Services

Primary
St Peter, MN

University of Minnesota Medical Center

Minneapolis, MN861 beds

Location

Livability

County figures for Nicollet County, Minnesota (US Census ACS).

State Income Tax
9.85%
Top marginal rate · 2025
Median Income
$80,362
+$2k vs US median
Avg Commute
17 min
US avg 27 min
Foreign-born share
County vs US average
Largest immigrant communities

County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).

Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.

People

Leadership

Chinmoy Gulrajani, MD

Forensic Psychiatry Program Director, Department of Psychiatry

Program Director

Chrissy Reding, C-TAGME

Education Manager

Coordinator

Mrs. Rachel D Talcott

Associate Education Manager

Coordinator

Melissa Tholen

Program Administrator

Coordinator

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Minnesota located?
University of Minnesota is located in Minneapolis, MN.
Is University of Minnesota ACGME-accredited?
Yes — University of Minnesota holds continued ACGME accreditation.
How many residents are at University of Minnesota?
University of Minnesota has approximately 2 residents in training.
How much is rent near University of Minnesota?
Median rent near Minneapolis, MN is ~$1,760/month for a 1BR and ~$2,100/month for a 2BR, based on a recent sample of Zillow and Realtor.com listings in the program's ZIP code.
Does University of Minnesota accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
University of Minnesota reports that none of its current residents are International Medical Graduates. That is a snapshot of the current cohort as reported to FREIDA, not a stated policy, and it can change year to year. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
Does University of Minnesota sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
Yes — University of Minnesota reports sponsoring both J-1 and H-1B visas. Sponsorship is set by the program and its sponsoring institution and can change between cycles, so confirm with the program before you apply.
What USMLE Step 2 CK score does University of Minnesota require?
University of Minnesota does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
What is the resident salary at University of Minnesota?
University of Minnesota has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
How do I apply to University of Minnesota?
US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save University of Minnesota to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
Does University of Minnesota have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Forensic psychiatry residency program positions as they appear.