All programs

Molecular Genetic Pathology (Multidisciplinary) Residency Program

University of California (San Diego) Medical Center
San Diego, CA
Continued AccreditationACGME #1900513030University

University of California (San Diego) Medical Center is an ACGME-accredited university-based Molecular genetic pathology (multidisciplinary) residency program in San Diego, CA. It has approximately 1 residents in training. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.

Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.

Overview

Positions / year
1 residents · 1 approved
PGY-1 salary
Not reported
IMG percentage
Visa sponsorship
None
Not currently sponsoring
Apps : 1 spot
Match report pending
verified
Open vacancies
None listed

Accredited since 2015 · 1 years · Last ACGME review 2017

IMG Fit

IMG-friendliness score

IMG-Friendliness Score
Computed from visa policy, IMG % in roster, and accreditation status.

Application requirements

Step 1
Optional
Required to apply
Step 2 CK
Optional
Required to apply
COMLEX
DO applicants
Letters
Reference letters needed
Visa
Not sponsored
Application service

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Match & Tracks

NRMP match trend

Match data pending

Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.

Training tracks

No tracks listed

No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.

Residents

Cohort composition

Cohort composition — data pending

Cohort composition hasn't been reported for this program yet.

Resident roster

Resident roster — data pending

Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.

Schedule & Culture

Hours / week
Avg PGY-1 on duty
Max on-duty
Consecutive hours
Lecture hours
0
Protected didactic / week
Night float
No
PGY-1 rotation
Moonlighting
No
Outside work allowed
Faculty ratio
0.0
Full-time per resident
Days off / year
Avg PGY-1
Interviews / cycle
Slots offered
Preliminary positions
No
Offered by this program

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Hospital & Location

Hospital quality

Government

Our mission is to cultivate a culture of continuous improvement at UC San Diego Health to deliver outstanding patient care.

Star Rating
5 / 5
Overall hospital rating
Beds
757
Tertiary care
Care quality (CMS Care Compare)
Safety of care3 better · 5 same · 0 worse
Mortality4 better · 3 same · 0 worse
Readmission1 better · 8 same · 2 worse

Measures rated better / same / worse vs the US national average.

Reports 8 of 8 HCAHPS patient-experience measures. Reports 11 of 12 timely & effective care measures.

Industry Payments (2024)
Total
$922K
Research
$0
Payments
58

Top payer: Agilent Technologies, Inc. ($300K)

Source: CMS Open Payments (Sunshine Act) — drug/device-maker payments to this teaching hospital.

Facility volume (annual)
Admissions
34,311
ED visits
77,962
Inpatient surgeries
12,273
Outpatient surgeries
12,286
Births
3,751
Daily census
594
Full-time staff
8,675

Source: FREIDA facility profile.

Primary teaching site: University of California (San Diego) Medical Center · San Diego, CA

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Clinical sites

University of California (San Diego) Medical Center

Primary
San Diego, CA757 beds

Rady Children's Hospital

San Diego, CA285 beds

UC San Diego Health Systems

San Diego, CA

Location

Livability

County figures for San Diego County, California (US Census ACS).

State Income Tax
13.3%
Includes 1% mental-health surtax over $1M.
Median Income
$102,285
+$24k vs US median
Avg Commute
26 min
US avg 27 min
Foreign-born share
County vs US average
Largest immigrant communities

County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).

Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.

People

Leadership

Wei Song, MD, PhD

Program Director

Program Director

Mrs. Alexandra Murtha, BA, MA

Program Administrator

Coordinator

Melanie Nguyen

Program Administrator

Coordinator

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of California (San Diego) Medical Center located?
University of California (San Diego) Medical Center is located in San Diego, CA.
What type of program is University of California (San Diego) Medical Center?
University of California (San Diego) Medical Center is a university-based residency program.
Is University of California (San Diego) Medical Center ACGME-accredited?
Yes — University of California (San Diego) Medical Center holds continued ACGME accreditation.
How many residents are at University of California (San Diego) Medical Center?
University of California (San Diego) Medical Center has approximately 1 residents in training.
How much is rent near University of California (San Diego) Medical Center?
Median rent near San Diego, CA is ~$2,405/month for a 1BR and ~$2,990/month for a 2BR, based on a recent sample of Zillow and Realtor.com listings in the program's ZIP code.
Does University of California (San Diego) Medical Center accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
University of California (San Diego) Medical Center has not reported an IMG resident percentage to FREIDA, so MatchPath publishes none for this program — the figure is missing at the source, not withheld. Its visa sponsorship and PGY-1 salary are shown on this page wherever the program reports them. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
Does University of California (San Diego) Medical Center sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
University of California (San Diego) Medical Center does not currently report J-1 or H-1B visa sponsorship to FREIDA. That means no sponsorship is listed at the source rather than that the program has ruled it out — confirm directly with the program if visa status decides your list.
What USMLE Step 2 CK score does University of California (San Diego) Medical Center require?
University of California (San Diego) Medical Center does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
What is the resident salary at University of California (San Diego) Medical Center?
University of California (San Diego) Medical Center has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
How do I apply to University of California (San Diego) Medical Center?
US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save University of California (San Diego) Medical Center to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
Does University of California (San Diego) Medical Center have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Molecular genetic pathology (multidisciplinary) residency program positions as they appear.