All programs

Plastic Surgery Residency Program

University of Alabama Hospital
Birmingham, AL
Continued AccreditationACGME #3600121121University

University of Alabama Hospital is an ACGME-accredited university-based Plastic Surgery residency program in Birmingham, AL. It has approximately 3 residents in training. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.

Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.

Overview

Positions / year
3 residents · 6 approved
PGY-1 salary
Not reported
IMG percentage
Visa sponsorship
None
Not currently sponsoring
Apps : 1 spot
Match report pending
verified
Open vacancies
None listed

Accredited since 1985 · 3 years · Last ACGME review 2012

IMG Fit

IMG-friendliness score

IMG-Friendliness Score
Computed from visa policy, IMG % in roster, and accreditation status.

Application requirements

Step 1
Required
Required to apply
Step 2 CK
Required
Required to apply
COMLEX
DO applicants
Letters
Reference letters needed
Visa
Not sponsored
Application service

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Match & Tracks

NRMP match trend

Match data pending

Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.

Training tracks

No tracks listed

No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.

Residents

Cohort composition

Cohort composition — data pending

Cohort composition hasn't been reported for this program yet.

Affiliated medical schools

Resident roster

Resident roster — data pending

Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.

Schedule & Culture

Hours / week
64
Avg PGY-1 on duty
Max on-duty
10
Consecutive hours
Lecture hours
3
Protected didactic / week
Night float
No
PGY-1 rotation
Moonlighting
No
Outside work allowed
Faculty ratio
1.1
Full-time per resident
Days off / year
2
Avg PGY-1
Interviews / cycle
Slots offered
Preliminary positions
No
Offered by this program

Smoke-free workplace.

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Hospital & Location

Hospital quality

Government

As a nationally ranked academic medical center and one of Alabama’s largest employers, UAB Medicine is about teamwork, support, mentorship, and collaboration. Employees are empowered to lead, learn, and innovate as they deliver world-class care to every patient, every family, every time. When you are a part of UAB Medicine, you change the world - starting with you. What happens here? • 1,100+ patient bed facility caring for 60,000+ each year • Level I Trauma Center and an ER the size of a football field • 9 speciality Intensive Care Units, including a Level IV Regional Neonatal ICU • Alabama’s first Comprehensive Stroke Center • First Magnet Hospital in Alabama and the only one in our state Why work at UAB Medicine? • Excellent benefits package: 100% tuition assistance, paid parental leave for moms and dads, professional development opportunities • Named among the “150 Best Places to Work in Healthcare” and "100 Great Hospitals in America" by Becker's Hospital Review • Ranked among the best by U.S. News & World Report year after year • Rated in the top 25 by Forbes for “Best Midsized Employer” Our website is a great career resource- be sure to check it out! www.uabmedicine.org/careers

Star Rating
Overall hospital rating
Beds
1,280
Tertiary care
Facility volume (annual)
Admissions
54,612
ED visits
128,718
Inpatient surgeries
20,867
Outpatient surgeries
17,106
Births
3,962
Daily census
111
Full-time staff
1,054

Source: FREIDA facility profile.

Primary teaching site: University of Alabama Hospital · Birmingham, AL

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Clinical sites

University of Alabama Hospital

Primary
Birmingham, AL1,280 beds

Children's Hospital of Alabama

Birmingham, AL351 beds

Veterans Affairs Medical Center (Birmingham)

Birmingham, AL141 beds

Grotting Plastic Surgery

Birmingham, AL

Location

Rental market & livability

Listings and market data via Realtor.com. Directional — verify before signing a lease.

Livability

County figures for Jefferson County, Alabama (US Census ACS).

State Income Tax
5%
Top marginal rate · 2025
Median Income
$64,589
−$14k vs US median
Avg Commute
25 min
US avg 27 min
Foreign-born share
County vs US average
Largest immigrant communities

County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).

Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.

People

Leadership

Jorge I de la Torre, MD

Professor and Chief

Program Director

Rene P Myers, MD

Associate Program Director

Coordinator

Ms. Tiffany Mondragon

Program Coordinator

Coordinator

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Alabama Hospital located?
University of Alabama Hospital is located in Birmingham, AL.
What type of program is University of Alabama Hospital?
University of Alabama Hospital is a university-based residency program.
Is University of Alabama Hospital ACGME-accredited?
Yes — University of Alabama Hospital holds continued ACGME accreditation.
How many residents are at University of Alabama Hospital?
University of Alabama Hospital has approximately 3 residents in training.
Does University of Alabama Hospital accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
University of Alabama Hospital has not reported an IMG resident percentage to FREIDA, so MatchPath publishes none for this program — the figure is missing at the source, not withheld. Its visa sponsorship and PGY-1 salary are shown on this page wherever the program reports them. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
Does University of Alabama Hospital sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
University of Alabama Hospital does not currently report J-1 or H-1B visa sponsorship to FREIDA. That means no sponsorship is listed at the source rather than that the program has ruled it out — confirm directly with the program if visa status decides your list.
What USMLE Step 2 CK score does University of Alabama Hospital require?
University of Alabama Hospital does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
What is the resident salary at University of Alabama Hospital?
University of Alabama Hospital has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
How do I apply to University of Alabama Hospital?
US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save University of Alabama Hospital to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
Does University of Alabama Hospital have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Plastic Surgery residency program positions as they appear.