Thoracic Surgery - Independent Residency Program
Ochsner Clinic FoundationOchsner Clinic Foundation is an ACGME-accredited university-based Thoracic surgery - independent residency program in New Orleans, LA. It has 1 PGY-1 position per year and approximately 2 residents in training. It reports 0% IMG residents and J-1 visa sponsorship. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.
Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.
Overview
Accredited since 2015 · 2 years · Last ACGME review 2017
IMG Fit
IMG-friendliness score
Application requirements
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Match & Tracks
NRMP match trend
Match data pending
Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.
Training tracks
No tracks listed
No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.
Residents
Cohort composition
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Affiliated medical schools
Medical schools affiliated with this program's sponsoring institution (FREIDA).
Resident roster
Resident roster — data pending
Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.
Schedule & Culture
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Hospital & Location
Hospital quality
Ochsner Clinic Foundation is a Hospital and Health Care company located in 22070 LA-59, Abita Springs, Louisiana, United States.
Measures rated better / same / worse vs the US national average.
Reports 8 of 8 HCAHPS patient-experience measures. Reports 12 of 12 timely & effective care measures.
Top payer: Gilead Sciences, Inc. ($1.5M)
Source: CMS Open Payments (Sunshine Act) — drug/device-maker payments to this teaching hospital.
Source: FREIDA facility profile.
Primary teaching site: Ochsner Clinic Foundation · New Orleans, LA
Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this
Clinical sites
Ochsner Clinic Foundation
PrimaryLocation
Rental market & livability
Area median rent ~$1,650/mo · 67 days on market4.35% rental listings MoM








Listings and market data via Realtor.com. Directional — verify before signing a lease.
Livability
County figures for Jefferson Parish, Louisiana (US Census ACS).
County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).
Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.
People
Leadership
Frequently Asked Questions
- Where is Ochsner Clinic Foundation located?
- Ochsner Clinic Foundation is located in New Orleans, LA.
- What type of program is Ochsner Clinic Foundation?
- Ochsner Clinic Foundation is a university-based residency program.
- Is Ochsner Clinic Foundation ACGME-accredited?
- Yes — Ochsner Clinic Foundation holds continued ACGME accreditation.
- How many residents are at Ochsner Clinic Foundation?
- Ochsner Clinic Foundation has approximately 2 residents in training.
- How much is rent near Ochsner Clinic Foundation?
- Median rent near New Orleans, LA is ~$935/month for a 1BR and ~$1,650/month for a 2BR, based on a recent sample of Zillow and Realtor.com listings in the program's ZIP code.
- Does Ochsner Clinic Foundation accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
- Ochsner Clinic Foundation reports that none of its current residents are International Medical Graduates. That is a snapshot of the current cohort as reported to FREIDA, not a stated policy, and it can change year to year. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
- Does Ochsner Clinic Foundation sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
- Ochsner Clinic Foundation reports sponsoring J-1 visas. It does not currently report H-1B sponsorship. Sponsorship is set by the program and its sponsoring institution and can change between cycles, so confirm with the program before you apply.
- What USMLE Step 2 CK score does Ochsner Clinic Foundation require?
- Ochsner Clinic Foundation does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
- What is the resident salary at Ochsner Clinic Foundation?
- Ochsner Clinic Foundation has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
- How do I apply to Ochsner Clinic Foundation?
- US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save Ochsner Clinic Foundation to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
- Does Ochsner Clinic Foundation have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
- Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Thoracic surgery - independent residency program positions as they appear.