All programs

Occupational and Environmental Medicine Residency Program

National Capital Consortium
Bethesda, MD
Continued AccreditationACGME #3822377073

National Capital Consortium is an ACGME-accredited Occupational and Environmental Medicine residency program in Bethesda, MD. It has approximately 12 residents in training. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.

Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.

Overview

Positions / year
12 residents · 15 approved
PGY-1 salary
Not reported
IMG percentage
Visa sponsorship
None
Not currently sponsoring
Apps : 1 spot
Match report pending
verified
Open vacancies
None listed

Accredited since 1988 · 2 years · Last ACGME review 2013

IMG Fit

IMG-friendliness score

IMG-Friendliness Score
Computed from visa policy, IMG % in roster, and accreditation status.

Application requirements

Step 1
Required
Required to apply
Step 2 CK
Required
Required to apply
COMLEX
DO applicants
Letters
Reference letters needed
Visa
Not sponsored
Application service

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Match & Tracks

NRMP match trend

Match data pending

Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.

Training tracks

No tracks listed

No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.

Residents

Cohort composition

Cohort composition — data pending

Cohort composition hasn't been reported for this program yet.

Affiliated medical schools

Medical schools affiliated with this program's sponsoring institution (FREIDA).

Resident roster

Resident roster — data pending

Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.

Schedule & Culture

Hours / week
40
Avg PGY-1 on duty
Max on-duty
12
Consecutive hours
Lecture hours
20
Protected didactic / week
Night float
No
PGY-1 rotation
Moonlighting
No
Outside work allowed
Faculty ratio
0.2
Full-time per resident
Days off / year
2
Avg PGY-1
Interviews / cycle
Slots offered
Preliminary positions
No
Offered by this program

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Hospital & Location

Hospital quality

Government
Star Rating
3 / 5
Overall hospital rating
Beds
Care quality (CMS Care Compare)
Safety of care1 better · 5 same · 1 worse
Mortality0 better · 7 same · 0 worse
Readmission0 better · 8 same · 1 worse

Measures rated better / same / worse vs the US national average.

Reports 8 of 8 HCAHPS patient-experience measures. Reports 9 of 12 timely & effective care measures.

Industry Payments (2024)
Total
$11K
Research
$0
Payments
5

Top payer: BIOTRONIK INC. ($7K)

Source: CMS Open Payments (Sunshine Act) — drug/device-maker payments to this teaching hospital.

Primary teaching site: Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences F Edward Hebert School of Medicine · Bethesda, MD

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Clinical sites

Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences F Edward Hebert School of Medicine

Primary
Bethesda, MD

Liberty Mutual Group-Western Region

Phoenix, AZ

Comcast NBCUniversal-Corporate Office

Los Angeles, CA

Naval Medical Center (San Diego)

San Diego, CA285 beds

Federal Bureau of Prisons

Washington, DC

Occupational Safety and Health Administration-Washington DC

Washington, DC

US Navy Bureau of Medicine and Surgery

Washington, DC

US Navy Experimental Diving Unit

Panama City Beach, FL

Naval Health Clinic Hawaii

Pearl Harbor, HI

Malcolm Grow Medical Clinic

Andrews Afb, MD

University of Maryland Program

Baltimore, MD622 beds

Walter Reed National Military Medical Center

Bethesda, MD251 beds

Naval Health Clinic (Annapolis)

Annapolis, MD

Kimbrough Ambulatory Care Center

Fort Meade, MD

Occupational Health Consultants

Rockville, MD

Reynolds Army Health Clinic

Fort Sill, OK24 beds

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Oak Ridge, TN

75th Medical Group

Hills Afb, UT

Federal Burrau of Investigation Academy

Stafford, VA

Naval Medical Center (Portsmouth)

Portsmouth, VA177 beds

Naval Health Clinic Quantico

Quantico, VA

Location

Livability

State Income Tax
5.75%
Counties add a local income tax on top.

Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.

People

Leadership

Marlene L Sanchez, MD, MPH

Program Director

Program Director

Mr. Douglas A Smith

Residency Program Administrator

Coordinator

Michael R Boivin, MD, MPH

Associate Program Director

Coordinator

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is National Capital Consortium located?
National Capital Consortium is located in Bethesda, MD.
Is National Capital Consortium ACGME-accredited?
Yes — National Capital Consortium holds continued ACGME accreditation.
How many residents are at National Capital Consortium?
National Capital Consortium has approximately 12 residents in training.
How much is rent near National Capital Consortium?
Median rent near Bethesda, MD is ~$2,746/month for a 1BR and ~$3,987/month for a 2BR, based on a recent sample of Zillow and Realtor.com listings in the program's ZIP code.
Does National Capital Consortium accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
National Capital Consortium has not reported an IMG resident percentage to FREIDA, so MatchPath publishes none for this program — the figure is missing at the source, not withheld. Its visa sponsorship and PGY-1 salary are shown on this page wherever the program reports them. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
Does National Capital Consortium sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
National Capital Consortium does not currently report J-1 or H-1B visa sponsorship to FREIDA. That means no sponsorship is listed at the source rather than that the program has ruled it out — confirm directly with the program if visa status decides your list.
What USMLE Step 2 CK score does National Capital Consortium require?
National Capital Consortium does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
What is the resident salary at National Capital Consortium?
National Capital Consortium has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
How do I apply to National Capital Consortium?
US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save National Capital Consortium to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
Does National Capital Consortium have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Occupational and Environmental Medicine residency program positions as they appear.