All programs

Hospice and Palliative Medicine (Multidisciplinary) Residency Program

MedStar Health Georgetown University
Washington, DC
Continued AccreditationACGME #5401014102J1J-1

MedStar Health Georgetown University is an ACGME-accredited Hospice and palliative medicine (multidisciplinary) residency program in Washington, DC. It has 4 PGY-1 positions per year and approximately 5 residents in training. It reports 0% IMG residents and J-1 visa sponsorship. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.

Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.

Overview

Positions / year
4
5 residents · 4 approved
PGY-1 salary
Not reported
IMG percentage
0%
x
Visa sponsorship
J-1
Apps : 1 spot
Match report pending
verified
Open vacancies
None listed

Accredited since 2012 · 1 years · Last ACGME review 2018

IMG Fit

IMG-friendliness score

IMG-Friendliness Score
Computed from visa policy, IMG % in roster, and accreditation status.

Application requirements

Step 1
Optional
Required to apply
Step 2 CK
Optional
Required to apply
COMLEX
DO applicants
Letters
Reference letters needed
Visa
J-1
Application service
ERAS

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Match & Tracks

NRMP match trend

Match data pending

Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.

Training tracks

No tracks listed

No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.

Residents

Cohort composition

IMG
0%
x
US MD
100%
x
DO
0%
x
Women
100%
x

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Resident roster

Resident roster — data pending

Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.

Schedule & Culture

Hours / week
45
Avg PGY-1 on duty
Max on-duty
18
Consecutive hours
Lecture hours
3
Protected didactic / week
Night float
No
PGY-1 rotation
Moonlighting
Yes
Outside work allowed
Faculty ratio
1.5
Full-time per resident
Days off / year
1.5
Avg PGY-1
Interviews / cycle
Slots offered
Preliminary positions
No
Offered by this program
Non-physician staff
14
Support team size

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Hospital & Location

Hospital quality

Non-Profit

MedStar Washington Hospital Center is a not-for-profit, 912-bed, teaching and research hospital in the nation’s capital, and is a major referral center for treating the region’s most complex cases. Its cardiology program is highly acclaimed, and its cardiac surgery program has consistently earned the highest national rating–three stars–from the Society of Thoracic Surgeons. MedStar Washington operates the region’s first Comprehensive Stroke Center and the District’s only Cardiac Ventricular Assist Device program, both certified by The Joint Commission. The hospital is also home to MedSTAR, a nationally verified level I trauma center with a state-of-the-art fleet of helicopters and ambulances, and also operates the region’s only adult Burn Center.

Star Rating
3 / 5
Overall hospital rating
Beds
780
Tertiary care
Care quality (CMS Care Compare)
Safety of care4 better · 4 same · 0 worse
Mortality3 better · 4 same · 0 worse
Readmission1 better · 9 same · 1 worse

Measures rated better / same / worse vs the US national average.

Reports 8 of 8 HCAHPS patient-experience measures. Reports 10 of 12 timely & effective care measures.

Leapfrog Safety GradeB
Industry Payments (2024)
Total
$4.1M
Research
$0
Payments
179

Top payer: Abbott Laboratories ($1.3M)

Source: CMS Open Payments (Sunshine Act) — drug/device-maker payments to this teaching hospital.

Facility volume (annual)
Admissions
30,754
ED visits
79,047
Inpatient surgeries
11,265
Outpatient surgeries
10,052
Births
3,485
Daily census
614
Full-time staff
5,567

Source: FREIDA facility profile.

Primary teaching site: MedStar Washington Hospital Center · Washington, DC

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Clinical sites

MedStar Washington Hospital Center

Primary
Washington, DC780 beds

Children's National Hospital

Washington, DC323 beds

Capital Caring (Washington DC)

Washington, DC

Holy Cross Hospital of Silver Spring

Silver Spring, MD453 beds

Location

Livability

County figures for District of Columbia, District of Columbia (US Census ACS).

State Income Tax
10.75%
Top marginal rate · 2025
Median Income
$106,287
+$28k vs US median
Avg Commute
30 min
US avg 27 min
Foreign-born share
County vs US average
Largest immigrant communities

County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).

Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.

People

Leadership

Anca Dinescu, MD

Program Director

Program Director

Sailaja Pindiprolu, MD

Program Director, Internal Medicine, Associate DIO

Coordinator

Laria Jones

GME Program Administrator

Coordinator

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is MedStar Health Georgetown University located?
MedStar Health Georgetown University is located in Washington, DC.
Is MedStar Health Georgetown University ACGME-accredited?
Yes — MedStar Health Georgetown University holds continued ACGME accreditation.
How many residents are at MedStar Health Georgetown University?
MedStar Health Georgetown University has approximately 5 residents in training.
How much is rent near MedStar Health Georgetown University?
Median rent near Washington, DC is ~$2,086/month for a 1BR and ~$2,600/month for a 2BR, based on a recent sample of Zillow and Realtor.com listings in the program's ZIP code.
Does MedStar Health Georgetown University accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
MedStar Health Georgetown University reports that none of its current residents are International Medical Graduates. That is a snapshot of the current cohort as reported to FREIDA, not a stated policy, and it can change year to year. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
Does MedStar Health Georgetown University sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
MedStar Health Georgetown University reports sponsoring J-1 visas. It does not currently report H-1B sponsorship. Sponsorship is set by the program and its sponsoring institution and can change between cycles, so confirm with the program before you apply.
What USMLE Step 2 CK score does MedStar Health Georgetown University require?
MedStar Health Georgetown University does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
What is the resident salary at MedStar Health Georgetown University?
MedStar Health Georgetown University has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
How do I apply to MedStar Health Georgetown University?
US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save MedStar Health Georgetown University to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
Does MedStar Health Georgetown University have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Hospice and palliative medicine (multidisciplinary) residency program positions as they appear.