All programs

Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Residency Program

Mammoth Orthopedic Institute
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Continued AccreditationACGME #2680526001Community

Mammoth Orthopedic Institute is an ACGME-accredited community-based Orthopaedic sports medicine residency program in Mammoth Lakes, CA. It has 1 PGY-1 position per year and approximately 1 residents in training. It reports 0% IMG residents. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.

Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.

Overview

Positions / year
1
1 residents · 2 approved
PGY-1 salary
Not reported
IMG percentage
0%
x
Visa sponsorship
None
Not currently sponsoring
Apps : 1 spot
Match report pending
verified
Open vacancies
None listed

Accredited since 2021 · 1 years · Last ACGME review 2024

IMG Fit

IMG-friendliness score

IMG-Friendliness Score
Computed from visa policy, IMG % in roster, and accreditation status.

Application requirements

Step 1
Optional
Required to apply
Step 2 CK
Optional
Required to apply
COMLEX
DO applicants
Letters
3
Incl. chair, faculty
Visa
Not sponsored
Application service

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Match & Tracks

NRMP match trend

Match data pending

Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.

Training tracks

No tracks listed

No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.

Residents

Cohort composition

IMG
0%
x
US MD
100%
x
DO
0%
x
Women
0%
x

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Resident roster

Resident roster — data pending

Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.

Schedule & Culture

Hours / week
55
Avg PGY-1 on duty
Max on-duty
10
Consecutive hours
Lecture hours
4
Protected didactic / week
Night float
No
PGY-1 rotation
Moonlighting
Yes
Outside work allowed
Faculty ratio
5.0
Full-time per resident
Days off / year
2
Avg PGY-1
Interviews / cycle
Slots offered
Preliminary positions
No
Offered by this program

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Hospital & Location

Hospital quality

Government

Mammoth Hospital is a modern, 17-bed facility designated by the federal government as a Critical Access Hospital supported by first-rate equipment. We pride ourselves on personalized care, and boast of our full-time board certified medical staff and highly qualified nursing staff. Since illness and injury don’t always occur between the hours of eight and five, Mammoth Hospital is always prepared to meet your health care needs with 24-hour emergency care. Mammoth Hospital’s Sierra Park out-patient clinics specialize in: behavior medicine & psychiatry, family dental, family medicine (Bridgeport & Mammoth), internal medicine, general surgery, neurology, orthopedics / sports medicine (Bishop & Mammoth), pediatrics, physical & occupational therapy, urology, and women’s health. Mammoth Hospital and the Sierra Park clinics average 50,000 patient visits per year.

Star Rating
Overall hospital rating
Beds
Care quality (CMS Care Compare)
Mortality0 better · 2 same · 0 worse
Readmission1 better · 1 same · 1 worse

Measures rated better / same / worse vs the US national average.

Reports 9 of 12 timely & effective care measures.

Primary teaching site: Mammoth Orthopedic Institute-Bishop · Bishop, CA

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Clinical sites

Mammoth Orthopedic Institute-Bishop

Primary
Bishop, CA

Mammoth Hospital

Mammoth Lakes, CA17 beds

Location

Livability

County figures for Inyo County, California (US Census ACS).

State Income Tax
13.3%
Includes 1% mental-health surtax over $1M.
Median Income
$72,432
−$6k vs US median
Avg Commute
16 min
US avg 27 min
Foreign-born share
County vs US average
Largest immigrant communities

County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).

Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.

People

Leadership

Brian B Gilmer, MD

Program Director

Program Director

Michael McMahon, MHA, MS

Orthopedic Manager

Coordinator

Ms. Sarah D Lang, MEd

Graduate Medical Education Coordinator

Coordinator

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Mammoth Orthopedic Institute located?
Mammoth Orthopedic Institute is located in Mammoth Lakes, CA.
What type of program is Mammoth Orthopedic Institute?
Mammoth Orthopedic Institute is a community-based residency program.
Is Mammoth Orthopedic Institute ACGME-accredited?
Yes — Mammoth Orthopedic Institute holds continued ACGME accreditation.
How many residents are at Mammoth Orthopedic Institute?
Mammoth Orthopedic Institute has approximately 1 residents in training.
How much is rent near Mammoth Orthopedic Institute?
Median rent near Mammoth Lakes, CA is ~$3,000/month for a 1BR and ~$3,700/month for a 2BR, based on a recent sample of Zillow and Realtor.com listings in the program's ZIP code.
Does Mammoth Orthopedic Institute accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
Mammoth Orthopedic Institute reports that none of its current residents are International Medical Graduates. That is a snapshot of the current cohort as reported to FREIDA, not a stated policy, and it can change year to year. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
Does Mammoth Orthopedic Institute sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
Mammoth Orthopedic Institute does not currently report J-1 or H-1B visa sponsorship to FREIDA. That means no sponsorship is listed at the source rather than that the program has ruled it out — confirm directly with the program if visa status decides your list.
What USMLE Step 2 CK score does Mammoth Orthopedic Institute require?
Mammoth Orthopedic Institute does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
What is the resident salary at Mammoth Orthopedic Institute?
Mammoth Orthopedic Institute has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
How do I apply to Mammoth Orthopedic Institute?
US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save Mammoth Orthopedic Institute to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
Does Mammoth Orthopedic Institute have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Orthopaedic sports medicine residency program positions as they appear.