All programs

Cytopathology Residency Program

Hartford Hospital
Hartford, CT
Continued AccreditationACGME #3070821053J1J-1

Hartford Hospital is an ACGME-accredited Cytopathology residency program in Hartford, CT. It has 1 PGY-1 position per year and approximately 1 residents in training. It reports J-1 visa sponsorship. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.

Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.

Overview

Positions / year
1
1 residents · 1 approved
PGY-1 salary
Not reported
IMG percentage
Visa sponsorship
J-1
Apps : 1 spot
Match report pending
verified
Open vacancies
None listed

Accredited since 1993 · 1 years · Last ACGME review 2011

IMG Fit

IMG-friendliness score

IMG-Friendliness Score
Computed from visa policy, IMG % in roster, and accreditation status.

Application requirements

Step 1
Optional
Required to apply
Step 2 CK
Optional
Required to apply
COMLEX
DO applicants
Letters
3
Incl. faculty, specialty
Visa
J-1
Application service

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Match & Tracks

NRMP match trend

Match data pending

Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.

Training tracks

No tracks listed

No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.

Residents

Cohort composition

Cohort composition — data pending

Cohort composition hasn't been reported for this program yet.

Resident roster

Resident roster — data pending

Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.

Schedule & Culture

Hours / week
45
Avg PGY-1 on duty
Max on-duty
12
Consecutive hours
Lecture hours
4
Protected didactic / week
Night float
No
PGY-1 rotation
Moonlighting
Yes
Outside work allowed
Faculty ratio
6.0
Full-time per resident
Days off / year
2
Avg PGY-1
Interviews / cycle
Slots offered
Preliminary positions
No
Offered by this program

Verified May 2026 · how we source this

Hospital & Location

Hospital quality

Non-Profit

Hartford Hospital, founded in 1854, is one of the largest teaching hospitals and tertiary care centers in New England with perhaps the region’s busiest surgery practice, has been training physicians for over 160 years. The hospital is an 867-bed regional referral center that provides high-quality care in all clinical disciplines. Among its divisions is The Institute of Living, a 114-bed mental health facility with a national and international reputation of excellence. Jefferson House, a 104-bed long-term care facility, is also part of Hartford Hospital. Hartford Hospital is part of Hartford HealthCare, Connecticut’s most comprehensive healthcare network. Our fully integrated health system includes a tertiary-care teaching hospital, an acute-care community teaching hospital, an acute-care hospital and trauma center, three community hospitals, the state’s most extensive behavioral health network, a large multi-specialty physician group, a regional home care system, an array of senior care services, a large physical therapy and rehabilitation network and an accountable care organization. Through its institute model, Hartford HealthCare offers the highest standards of care for cancer, heart and vascular services, neuroscience, orthopedics and urology.

Star Rating
4 / 5
Overall hospital rating
Beds
923
Tertiary care
Care quality (CMS Care Compare)
Safety of care5 better · 3 same · 0 worse
Mortality0 better · 7 same · 0 worse
Readmission0 better · 9 same · 2 worse

Measures rated better / same / worse vs the US national average.

Reports 8 of 8 HCAHPS patient-experience measures. Reports 10 of 12 timely & effective care measures.

Industry Payments (2024)
Total
$1.7M
Research
$0
Payments
242

Top payer: Medtronic, Inc. ($622K)

Source: CMS Open Payments (Sunshine Act) — drug/device-maker payments to this teaching hospital.

NIH Research Funding (FY2026)
Total awarded
$18.2M
Active projects
~9

Source: NIH RePORTER — federal research grants awarded to this teaching hospital (last 3 fiscal years).

Facility volume (annual)
Admissions
42,443
ED visits
102,441
Inpatient surgeries
13,494
Outpatient surgeries
22,287
Births
3,804
Daily census
780
Full-time staff
4,893

Source: FREIDA facility profile.

Primary teaching site: Hartford Hospital · Hartford, CT

Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this

Clinical sites

Hartford Hospital

Primary
Hartford, CT923 beds

Location

Rental market & livability

Listings and market data via Realtor.com. Directional — verify before signing a lease.

Livability

County figures for Capitol Planning Region, Connecticut (US Census ACS).

State Income Tax
6.99%
Top marginal rate · 2025
Median Income
$91,541
+$13k vs US median
Avg Commute
24 min
US avg 27 min
Foreign-born share
County vs US average
Largest immigrant communities

County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).

Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.

People

Leadership

Ronald N Araneta, MD

Program Director, Cytopathology Fellowship

Program Director

Mary Ryan

Program Coordinator

Coordinator

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Hartford Hospital located?
Hartford Hospital is located in Hartford, CT.
Is Hartford Hospital ACGME-accredited?
Yes — Hartford Hospital holds continued ACGME accreditation.
How many residents are at Hartford Hospital?
Hartford Hospital has approximately 1 residents in training.
Does Hartford Hospital accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
Hartford Hospital has not reported an IMG resident percentage to FREIDA, so MatchPath publishes none for this program — the figure is missing at the source, not withheld. Its visa sponsorship and PGY-1 salary are shown on this page wherever the program reports them. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
Does Hartford Hospital sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
Hartford Hospital reports sponsoring J-1 visas. It does not currently report H-1B sponsorship. Sponsorship is set by the program and its sponsoring institution and can change between cycles, so confirm with the program before you apply.
What USMLE Step 2 CK score does Hartford Hospital require?
Hartford Hospital does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
What is the resident salary at Hartford Hospital?
Hartford Hospital has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
How do I apply to Hartford Hospital?
US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save Hartford Hospital to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
Does Hartford Hospital have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Cytopathology residency program positions as they appear.