Hospice and Palliative Medicine (Multidisciplinary) Residency Program
Clinical Center at the National Institutes of HealthClinical Center at the National Institutes of Health is an ACGME-accredited Hospice and palliative medicine (multidisciplinary) residency program in Bethesda, MD. It has 2 PGY-1 positions per year and approximately 2 residents in training. It reports 50% IMG residents. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.
Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.
Overview
Accredited since 2009 · 1 years · Last ACGME review 2012
IMG Fit
IMG-friendliness score
Application requirements
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Match & Tracks
NRMP match trend
Match data pending
Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.
Training tracks
No tracks listed
No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.
Residents
Cohort composition
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Affiliated medical schools
Medical schools affiliated with this program's sponsoring institution (FREIDA).
Resident roster
Resident roster — data pending
Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.
Schedule & Culture
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Hospital & Location
Hospital quality
NIH is the only agency of its kind. We impact the health of the country and the world through unique and innovative medical research. Did you know that NIH is the largest public funder of biomedical research in the world, investing more than $32 billion a year to enhance life, and reduce illness and disability? NIH funded research has led to breakthroughs and new treatments, helping people live longer, healthier lives, and building the research foundation that drives discovery. Whether you are graduating with a bachelor's degree, working on your doctoral degree, entering the workforce for the first time, or changing careers, NIH offers a place for you to start and plenty of room to grow your career. When you join us, you’re not just advancing your career — you’re driving the health of our country forward. Official LinkedIn Account of the NIH. Privacy policy: http://go.usa.gov/x9svN Comment policy: https://bit.ly/3G6xq94 Engagement ≠ endorsement
Source: FREIDA facility profile.
Primary teaching site: Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health · Bethesda, MD
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Clinical sites
Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health
PrimaryWashington Home and Community Hospices
Holy Cross Hospital of Silver Spring
Montgomery Hospice
Location
Rental market & livability
Listings and market data via Realtor.com. Directional — verify before signing a lease.
Livability
County figures for Montgomery County, Maryland (US Census ACS).
County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).
Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.
People
Leadership
Frequently Asked Questions
- Where is Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health located?
- Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health is located in Bethesda, MD.
- Is Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health ACGME-accredited?
- Yes — Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health holds continued ACGME accreditation.
- How many residents are at Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health?
- Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health has approximately 2 residents in training.
- Does Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
- Yes — 50% of Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health's current residents are International Medical Graduates, as reported to FREIDA. This page also shows its visa sponsorship, reported Step 2 CK expectation, and PGY-1 salary. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
- Does Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
- Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health does not currently report J-1 or H-1B visa sponsorship to FREIDA. That means no sponsorship is listed at the source rather than that the program has ruled it out — confirm directly with the program if visa status decides your list.
- What USMLE Step 2 CK score does Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health require?
- Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
- What is the resident salary at Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health?
- Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
- How do I apply to Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health?
- US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
- Does Clinical Center at the National Institutes of Health have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
- Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Hospice and palliative medicine (multidisciplinary) residency program positions as they appear.