Ophthalmology Residency Program
Tufts Medical CenterTufts Medical Center is an ACGME-accredited university-based Ophthalmology residency program in Boston, MA. It has 4 PGY-1 positions per year and approximately 15 residents in training. It reports 13.3% IMG residents and J-1 visa sponsorship. MatchPath compiles this profile from ACGME, FREIDA, and NRMP public data; every field is free to view, with no account required.
Cross-validated from ACGME, FREIDA, NRMP & CMS, each field stamped with a verification date. How we source this.
Overview
4 years · Last ACGME review 2012
IMG Fit
IMG-friendliness score
Application requirements
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Match & Tracks
NRMP match trend
Match data pending
Multi-year applicants, interviews, and positions filled.
Training tracks
No tracks listed
No tracks recorded for this program yet. The categorical track is implied for most IM residencies.
Residents
Cohort composition
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Affiliated medical schools
Medical schools affiliated with this program's sponsoring institution (FREIDA).
Resident roster
Resident roster — data pending
Resident roster ingest is still in progress. Names, medical schools, and country flags land with the next LinkedIn data refresh.
Schedule & Culture
Verified May 2026 · how we source this
Hospital & Location
Hospital quality
Tufts Medical Center, a world-renowned academic medical center, has provided exceptional care across New England for over two centuries. From our primary care to our level one trauma center to our leading heart transplant program and over 100 specialties and services, our clinicians deliver innovative, patient-centered care every day. Tufts Medical Center is the principal teaching hospital for Tufts University School of Medicine and a leading research institution, conducting game-changing medical and health policy research.
Measures rated better / same / worse vs the US national average.
Reports 8 of 8 HCAHPS patient-experience measures. Reports 10 of 12 timely & effective care measures.
Top payer: Janssen Global Services, LLC ($560K)
Source: CMS Open Payments (Sunshine Act) — drug/device-maker payments to this teaching hospital.
Source: NIH RePORTER — federal research grants awarded to this teaching hospital (last 3 fiscal years).
Source: FREIDA facility profile.
Primary teaching site: Tufts Medical Center · Boston, MA
Verified Jun 2026 · how we source this
Clinical sites
Tufts Medical Center
PrimaryLahey Clinic
St Elizabeth's Medical Center
University of New Mexico Hospital
Raymond G Murphy VA Medical Center
Location
Rental market & livability
Area median rent ~$4,100/mo · 48 days on market17.14% rental listings MoM








Listings and market data via Realtor.com. Directional — verify before signing a lease.
Livability
County figures for Suffolk County, Massachusetts (US Census ACS).
County foreign-born residents by country of birth (ACS).
Median rent and walkability scores arrive with the Zillow and Walk Score data refresh.
People
Leadership
Frequently Asked Questions
- Where is Tufts Medical Center located?
- Tufts Medical Center is located in Boston, MA.
- What type of program is Tufts Medical Center?
- Tufts Medical Center is a university-based residency program.
- Is Tufts Medical Center ACGME-accredited?
- Yes — Tufts Medical Center holds continued ACGME accreditation.
- How many residents are at Tufts Medical Center?
- Tufts Medical Center has approximately 15 residents in training.
- How much is rent near Tufts Medical Center?
- Median rent near Boston, MA is ~$3,900/month for a 1BR and ~$4,850/month for a 2BR, based on a recent sample of Zillow and Realtor.com listings in the program's ZIP code.
- Does Tufts Medical Center accept International Medical Graduates (IMGs)?
- Yes — 13.3% of Tufts Medical Center's current residents are International Medical Graduates, as reported to FREIDA. This page also shows its visa sponsorship, reported Step 2 CK expectation, and PGY-1 salary. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
- Does Tufts Medical Center sponsor J-1 or H-1B visas?
- Tufts Medical Center reports sponsoring J-1 visas. It does not currently report H-1B sponsorship. Sponsorship is set by the program and its sponsoring institution and can change between cycles, so confirm with the program before you apply.
- What USMLE Step 2 CK score does Tufts Medical Center require?
- Tufts Medical Center does not report a minimum USMLE Step 2 CK score, so MatchPath publishes no cutoff for this program — most programs do not publish one. Use its IMG percentage and the specialty's overall match data to gauge fit instead; both are on this page. All of it is free to view, with no account needed.
- What is the resident salary at Tufts Medical Center?
- Tufts Medical Center has not reported a PGY-1 salary to FREIDA, so this page shows it as not reported. Salary is set by the sponsoring institution and rises each training year through completion; the program or its GME office can confirm the current figure.
- How do I apply to Tufts Medical Center?
- US residency programs accept applications through ERAS and rank applicants through the NRMP Match. Applications open in the fall, interviews run through winter, and Match results release in March. Save Tufts Medical Center to your MatchPath tracker to manage it across the cycle.
- Does Tufts Medical Center have unfilled or off-cycle positions?
- Unfilled positions are offered through SOAP during Match week, and off-cycle vacancies can open year-round. MatchPath's Vacancies feed tracks open Ophthalmology residency program positions as they appear.